The Eighth Girl: A Novel

Les og lytt gratis i 30 dager

The Eighth Girl: A Novel

Fra 139 kr/måned etter prøveperioden. Ingen bindningstid.

The Eighth Girl: A Novel

Les og lytt gratis i 30 dager

Len deg tilbake med Nextorys app og finn din neste historie blant flere hundretusen lydbøker og e-bøker.

Fra 139 kr/måned etter prøveperioden. Ingen bindningstid.





The Eighth Girl: A Novel

2.00 1 vurdering
13 h 31 min
Optioned by Netflix and a most anticipated book of 2020 from The Rumpus, Electric Literature, and LitHub.

"The Eighth Girl is an exquisite exploration of childhood trauma and its impact on the psyche. Part thriller, part character study, I devoured this novel in one sitting, reflecting on each sentence, each passage, and each astute observation of humanity. A true gem!" — Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

In this unsettling, seductive psychological thriller, a young woman with multiple personalities is drawn into London’s hellish underworld when she becomes entangled with a man who has an abominable secret, for fans of Caroline Kepnes and Clare Mackintosh.

One woman, multiple personas. But which one is telling the truth?

Beautiful. Damaged. Destructive. Meet Alexa Wú, a brilliant yet darkly self-aware young woman whose chaotic life is manipulated and controlled by a series of alternate personalities. Only three people know about their existence: her shrink Daniel; her stepmother Anna; and her enigmatic best friend Ella. The perfect trio of trust.

When Ella gets a job at a high-end gentleman’s club, she catches the attention of its shark-like owner and is gradually drawn into his inner circle. As Alexa’s world becomes intimately entangled with Ella’s, she soon finds herself the unwitting keeper of a nightmarish secret. With no one to turn to and lives at stake, she follows Ella into London’s cruel underbelly on a daring rescue mission. Threatened and vulnerable, Alexa will discover whether her multiple personalities are her greatest asset, or her most dangerous obstacle.

Electrifying and breathlessly compulsive, The Eighth Girl is an omnivorous examination of life with mental illness and the acute trauma of life in a misogynist world. With bingeable prose and a clinician’s expertise, Chung’s psychological debut deftly navigates the swirling confluence of identity, innocence, and the impossible fracturing weights that young women are forced to carry, causing us to question: Does the truth lead to self-discovery, or self-destruction?

The Eighth Girl: A Novel er tilgjengelig som lydbok.

  • Lydbok

    Publisert : 2020-03-17

    Språk: Engelsk

    Forlag Lydbok: HarperAudio

    ISBN Lydbok: 9780062987679

Vis mer

Dette liker andre med Nextory

Det er så bra å kunne lytte til en god bok når jeg sitter i bilen eller på flyet eller toget.

AnitaAnita

Lett og lese og bra at man kan stille inn bakgrunnsfarge og tegnstørrelse.

PeterPeter

Rask og trivelig kundetjeneste, bra utvalg og pent brukergrensesnitt. Appen utvikles stadig.

AnnaAnna
img

Hundretusenvis historier venter

Les og lytt så mye du vil. Du velger selv når du vil bytte eller avslutte abonnementet ditt.

image

Bøker er mer gøy enn noen gang

Flere enn 11 000 lesere har gitt Nextory fem stjerner som karakter i App Store og Google Play.

image

Bokutfordre deg selv

Sett deg dine egne lesemål og følg din egen lesestatistikk med funksjonene Bokutfordringen og Lesedagboken.

Bøker av Maxine Mei-Fung Chung